When Do Exhaust Gas Temperatures Become A Cause For Concern?

Q:

I have a 1940 Ford four-door pickup street rod with a 1974 Corvette four-bolt-main 350 and a 700-R4 transmission. I had the engine bored 0.030-over and totally rebuilt. It has a mild Edelbrock cam, hydraulic lifters, and a geardrive. It has ceramic-coated headers. I am concerned some cylinders are running hot. When the engine has warmed up, using my infrared thermometer I get these readings on the header tubes at idle: 

 

Read More 

Leave a Reply

